in ,

52nd Anniversary of the Brazilian National Team’s Title at the Azteca Stadium in Mexico 1970 

Brasil en el Estadio Azteca - México 1970
FILE - In this June 21, 1970 file photo, Brazil's Pele, center, is hoisted on the shoulders of his teammates after Brazil won the World Cup soccer final against Italy, 4-1, in Mexico City's Estadio Azteca, Mexico. Brazil's third World Cup triumph meant it kept the Jules Rimet trophy for good. The 21st World Cup begins on Thursday, June 14, 2018, when host Russia takes on Saudi Arabia. (AP Photo, file)

In Mexico 1970, Brazil won its third World Cup at the Azteca Stadium, although at that time the trophy was still called Jules Rimet. Today is the 52nd anniversary of the Brazilian celebration that was shared with the Mexican people.

On Thursday, June 16, the venues for the 2026 World Cup were announced. The tournament will be hosted by Canada, the United States and Mexico. Among these venues is the Azteca Stadium, also known as the Coloso de Santa Ursula, which will become the first stadium in the world to have hosted three different World Cups (1970, 1986 and now 2026).

By the 1970 World Cup, the Azteca Stadium was already the largest in Mexico, with a capacity of 110,000 spectators, and had the privilege of hosting the final of that World Cup.

Brazil’s national team managed to win the affection of the Mexican public and had support from start to finish. The first three group stage matches were played at the Jalisco Stadium in the city of Guadalajara, and that became their home, as they also played their quarterfinal and semifinal matches there.

Their only visit to the country’s capital was for the Mexico 1970 final, and there too Edson Arantes do Nascimento, better known as Pelé, and his teammates managed to make a deep connection with the public.

Brazil managed to feel at home and reflected this by beating Italy 4-1 in the final of Mexico 1970. Pelé opened the scoring in the 19th minute. Roberto Boninsegna managed to tie the game in the 37th minute to go into halftime on level terms. However, the “Canarinha” had only saved the goals for the second half to put the game on hold. In the 66th minute, Gérson de Oliveira Nunes made it 2-1, Jairzinho made it 2-1 in the 71st minute and Carlos Alberto Torres sealed the victory in the 87th minute to give Brazil its third World Cup.

Pele and Brazil’s Success at Mexico 1970

The star of the “Verdeamarela” at that time was undoubtedly Pelé, but the Mexico 1970 title would not have been possible without the rest of his teammates. Pelé scored only four of the 19 total goals scored by the Brazilian National Team in that World Cup, in which they won all their matches.

Brazil at the Azteca Stadium - Pelé in Mexico 1970

The 1970 World Cup in Mexico is also remembered for Brazil’s last goal, which was called the “perfect goal”. Carlos Alberto Torres’ goal had the honor of involving 10 of the 11 “Canarinha” players, something that has rarely been seen.

It was also called the “President’s Goal” because the President of Brazil predicted the score of 4-1, and with Torres’ goal in the 87th minute, he was right.

Brazil has won two more World Cups in history and so far is the top winner of the top national team tournament with five in total.

Do you like our content? Do not forget to follow us on our social networks to keep up to date with all the sports information, only here at JefeBet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Avatar of Mayra Madrigal Héroe

Written by Mayra Madrigal

Años de membresíaVotanteAutor de contenido
Super Bowl

The Best Super Bowl Halftime Shows in NFL History

Isaac Paredes suma

Isaac Paredes Makes MLB History With Three Home Runs Against Yankees